Blueberries!

When we purchased our home 5 years ago, it came with two blueberry bushes and a gigantic garden.   Any one with half a mind for gardening would have been tickled pink.  As an eater of massive amounts of veggies, I thought of all the delicious fresh produce I could get out of that garden.  Problem is, I am not a gardener.  Actually, I have a bit of a black thumb. Almost everything green I touch seems to wither and die.  I’m not sure if it is over care of under care – too much water, not enough water – too much sun, planted in the shade – I am sure a real gardener would be able to tell you.  I just know everything green around me tends to die if I touch it.  I am like the Goldfinger of gardening, except, a Blackfinger. Oddly, it doesn’t translate to weeds.

So the garden became overgrown with 3 inch trees and weeds that are taller than I am.  Now I did have intentions of cleaning it out this spring and making an attempt at growing my own produce, but other priorities kept getting in the way (having a “To Do” list that is two columns in width and typed in 8pt font will do that).  Luckily for us, blueberries don’t require much maintenance.  Actually none.  I just walked out one day and there was green little balls and as of last week, they turned blue.  Sweeeeet.  That is the kind of gardening I like.

Now I may not be able to garden, but I most certainly can pick blueberries.  I used to go with my dad every year in August in Pennsylvania and pick 5 gallon buckets full of wild blueberries that grew in the mountains.  My mom and grandmother would make the most delicious pies (albeit a bit runny from lack of flour – but shhh!  I didn’t say that!).  So pick I did and I came back with – a quart.  Yes.  Just a quart.  Of which my 5 year old daughter ate half.  But it was a quart of delicious blueberries grown in our own garden.  I may not be able to make a pie with the remaining half quart – but maybe a smoothie.

Here is my favorite blueberry smoothie based on an Ani Phyo recipe:

Blueberry Smoothie

1 cup frozen blueberries
1.5 cups water (or enough to cover berries)
2-3 pitted medjool dates
1/2 whole vanilla bean
1/4 cup raw cashews
3 ice cubes

Blend and serve!

Blueberry Bush

About GUILDBROOK STUDIOS OFFICIAL BLOG

GUILDBROOK STUDIOS is a creative design and visual media production company, offering a unique and stylistic approach of controlled chaos to both commercial and individual clients. With a combined 40 years of experience in the areas of photography, video production, motion graphics, special effects, technology, advertising, print and marketing, our team brings a fresh and current approach to the art of communication. We understand, design, capture, edit, produce, print, syndicate, distribute and monetize. So hit us up with your craziest ideas… We love to rock the boat. View all posts by GUILDBROOK STUDIOS OFFICIAL BLOG

Leave a Reply

